Best Side?

On Sunday, June 25, Martha and I took a few pictures, and for Martha’s part, apparently she was trying to capture “my best side”! Evidently, either she failed in that effort—or I don’t have a best side!

That morning, we drove a little over an hour from Morgantown, West Virginia to Belington, West Virginia. Pulling the trailer up and down hills as well as around curves on a 2-lane road was a real drag—literally. It was tiring, too.

Just to make things more interesting, I suppose, the GPS decided to play games with me, falsely promising some shortcuts that did not materialize. The shortcut through Grafton, West Virginia involved getting off of the state route on which we were traveling only to get back on the same route up the road a piece. However, the GPS repeatedly tried to get me to drive over a steep hillside where there was no road, and if there had been a road I would not have plunged my car and trailer over the cliff. I wonder if the van was weary and exhibiting a suicidal tendency.

To salvage the adventure through Grafton, we had to go down a steep, in town, winding grade, stopping at the bottom for a traffic light prior to making a hard right, banked turn. I was saying unkind things to my car’s dash, the home of my GPS.

Still up to its tricks, the GPS tried to get me to take the car and trailer over a divided, 2-lane covered bridge in Philippi, West Virginia. I stopped the car on the highway, until I spied the modern bypass and concrete bridge alternative and current route through and around the village. By the time we arrived in Belington, I didn’t know whether to trust guidance from the GPS or not. I had never been to Belington before.

Martha, Rebecca and I arrived without further incident at the meetinghouse of the Belington Church of Christ, whereupon we were greeted by one of the elders, brother Dave Everson. I doubt that we have ever received a more enthusiastic reception than we received there. I made my PowerPoint presentation, “World Evangelism Media & Missions,” during Bible class time, and for worship, I preached, “Imitating the Urgency of Jesus Christ.” For lunch, we were led to a local eatery back in Philippi. The fellowship and the meals, too, were great!

Afterward, brother Mike Philips, the evangelist for the Belington congregation, guided us to the rural location of the church house for the Wilson Ridge Church of Christ. Later, once more, I made my PowerPoint presentation, “World Evangelism Media & Missions.” Likewise, there we were honored and appreciated for our work’s sake. For the afternoon before evening worship as well as following church services, brother Bob Jennings extended excellent hospitality to us.

Brethren Mike Philips and Bob Jennings were students at the West Virginia School of Preaching where I had taught for ten years. I count both Christian men as my friends and my equals.

Monday, we three again journeyed onward. We traveled from our overnight lodging in Bridgeport, West Virginia to Lexington, Kentucky. This was in preparation for speaking Wednesday night for the North Lexington Church of Christ. We arrived in Lexington early enough to meet up with and have supper with my son Robert. Tomorrow, the four of us, Lord willing, will drive to Williamstown, Kentucky to visit the life-size replica of Noah’s ark.

Tonight and the following night, we are lodging in a cheap hotel—to which we have applied both air freshener and bug spray. Thursday, we hope to arrive back in Winona, Mississippi. We are weary.

Explore posts in the same categories: Preaching Appointments, R&R, Travel

